I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 7

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio F. B. Aguon, Jr.

J. M.S. Brown

Edward J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

Mike Cruz

Mark Forbes

L. F. Kasperbauer

R. Klitzkie

L. A. Leon Guerrero

J. A. Lujan

A. B. Palacios

R. J. Respicio

A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to welcoming His Excellency Chen Shiu-bian, the Eleventh-term President, Republic of China, (Taiwan), on behalf of the people of Guam, upon the occasion of his visit to our island.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 **WHEREAS**, President Chen Shui-bian was born on February 18, 1951 in
- 4 Guantian a township of Tainan County, Taiwan; and
- 5 WHEREAS, his recognition that education is a passport to a better life
- 6 led him to graduate from the prestigious National Taiwan University's

- 1 Department of Law in 1974, with honors; and
- 2 WHEREAS, President Chen became the nation's youngest lawyer,

- 3 passing the national bar exam as a junior in college; and
- 4 WHEREAS, President Chen first ran for public office in 1981 and was
- 5 elected to the Taipei City Council with the highest number of votes; and
- 6 WHEREAS, in 1987, President Chen joined the Democratic Progressive
- 7 Party; and
- 8 WHEREAS, in 1994, President Chen won the Taipei mayoral election;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, during his four (4) years as Mayor, President Chen made
- 11 improvements in transportation and made concentrated efforts addressing
- 12 crime and corruption; and
- 13 WHEREAS, on March 18, 2000, President Chen was elected as the tenth
- 14 (10th) President of the Republic of China (Taiwan) with his agenda focusing on
- 15 government reform, galvanizing the economy, pursuing new strategies for
- diplomacy, and promoting peace in the Taiwan Strait; and
- WHEREAS, President Chen's unwavering commitment to freedom and
- 18 human rights was internationally recognized by being awarded the 2001 Prize
- 19 for Freedom by Liberal International; and
- 20 WHEREAS, in 2002, President Chen established the Government
- 21 Reform Committee in order to provide openness and transparency to ensure a
- 22 solid foundation for democratic rule of law, and to foster long-term stability
- 23 and prosperity of the nation; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, on March 20, 2004, President Chen was elected for his second (2nd) term with his new four-year mission to ensure Taiwan's solidarity, cross-strait stability, social order and economic prosperity; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, welcome His Excellency Chen Shiu-bian to our island; and be it further **RESOLVED**, that I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize and commend his Excellency Chen Shiu-bian on his goal to cultivate an atmosphere of humanitarianism, environmental protection, and sustainable development; and be it further RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to His Excellency Chen Shui-bian, President of the Republic of China (Taiwan); to the Honorable Chen Tan-sun, Minister of Foreign Affairs; to the Honorable Lee Ta-wei, Representative, Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office in Washington D.C.; to the Honorable Ma Ying-jeou, Mayor of Taipei; to the Honorable Pearl Wu Bi-Chu, Speaker, Taipei City Council; to the Honorable Chin Chen-yu, Director-General, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Guam; to President Fong Wu, President of the United Chinese Association of

Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINABENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 28^{TH} DAY OF JANUARY 2005.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature